Board of Commissioners Meeting Recap – June 3, 2024

Posted June 5, 2024



The Granville County Board of Commissioners held a regular meeting on Monday, June 3 at the Granville County Convention and Expo Center. The meeting featured the approval of the 2024-2025 fiscal year budget, and the appointment of Karen Evans as the new Clerk to the Board of County Commissioners.


The fiscal year 2024-2025 budget was approved as recommended by the County Manager by a vote of 6-1, with Commissioner Russ May voting in opposition. The $87,236,613 operating budget provides for investments in employee salaries and benefits, expands the County’s EMS capabilities, and addresses capital needs across the County as well as at Granville County Public Schools and Vance-Granville Community College.  The 2024-2025 budget is supported by a county property tax rate of $0.631 per $100 valuation; this is a reduced rate from the current $0.84 per $100 valuation, although it is $.09 higher than the revenue neutral rate of $0.54.


To expand and enhance fire protection across the County, and with the support and counsel of the Granville County Fire Commission, the Fire Protection Service District tax rate will remain at $0.06 per $100 valuation, which represents a $.021 increase above the revenue neutral rate of $.039.


The full budget document is available to view on the Granville County website HERE.


Karen Evans was formally appointed to fill the role of Clerk to the Board of Commissioners and Chair Timothy Karan administered the Oath of Office. Evans was originally hired in September 2023 as Deputy Clerk to the Board of Commissioners and succeeds outgoing Clerk to the Board Debra Weary who will retire from Granville County on June 30.


Other business conducted on June 3 included:


– An update from Vance-Granville Community College (VGCC) President Dr. Rachel Desmaris on the state of VGCC including the planned Advanced Manufacturing Center at the Triangle North Granville Business Park.

– An update from Granville County Search and Recovery.

– Approval of special amendments to the fiscal year 2024-2025 budget for Granville County’s allocations to Area Congregations in Ministry (ACIM) and Franklin-Granville-Vance Smart Start. Those allocations could not be approved in the regular budget ordinance due to Commissioner Sue Hinman serving as Executive Director of ACIM and Commissioner Tony Cozart’s role as Executive Director of Franklin-Granville-Vance Smart Start. Both recused themselves from voting on their organization’s funding allocation.

– Approval of six resolutions at the request of the Granville County Board of Education supporting their requests to the State of North Carolina for changes to school safety funding, changes to the English as a Second Language (ESL) entry/exit criteria, request for funding allocation for required devices to conduct state testing, request for additional funding for Exceptional Children Services, supporting professional development in linguistics and financial consideration for the ESL program, and supporting changes to state retirement restrictions for educators.

– Approval of a contract with the Granville County Board of Education for the purchase of the former G.C. Hawley Middle School on Hawley School Road in Creedmoor. The agreement includes stipulations that Granville County will take on all expenses for demolition and hazard abatement, that the site will honor the legacy G.C. Hawley and the school itself, and that any future facilities constructed on the site will allow priority usage by Granville County Public Schools (GCPS). The contract also commits Granville County to increase capital outlay funding to meet the repair and renovation needs of other GCPS schools.

– Approval of a financial consulting services contract with Davenport & Company, LLC.

– Approval of a maintenance contract and support agreements with Southern Software, Inc. for various software and hardware at the Granville County Emergency Communications Center.

– Reappointing Jennifer Currin (District 2), Andrea Westcott (District 4), and Angela Gooch (District 6) to the Animal Control Advisory Committee.

– Appointing David Hinton (District 2) and Randy Green (District 5) to the Citizens Advisory Committee for Environmental Affairs.

– Reappointing Ronnie Boyd (District 2), Harriet Morton (District 4), and Allan Strickland (District 6) to the Veterans Affairs Committee.

– Appointing William Lyon (District 7) to the Granville County Planning Board.

– Approval of budget amendment #11 for fiscal year 2023-2024.

– Approval of realignment of assigned fund balance for economic and physical development.

– Approval of request for lottery funding for school construction.

– Approval of tax refunds, releases, and write-offs for May 7, 2024, to May 20, 2024.

– Approval of Board of Commissioners meeting minutes for April 15, 2024.

– Approval of revisions to the Granville County Personnel Policy.


The next meeting of the Granville County Board of Commissioners is scheduled for Monday, June 17 at 7:00 p.m. at the Granville County Convention and Expo Center.


To stay informed about upcoming meetings of the Board of Commissioners, visit the Granville County website at where you can sign up for the “Sunshine List” and follow the county on Facebook at

Back To Top