Granville County resident honored at awards banquet

At their annual awards banquet held Sept. 26, the Kerr-Tar Regional Council of Governments presented awards for outstanding service, with Board Member Dr. Francine Chavis of Granville County being recognized as the Kerr-Tar Outstanding Board Member of the Year.


Dr. Chavis was nominated for this award by the Granville County Board of Commissioners. A resident of Granville County, Dr. Chavis has been practicing medicine for the past 34 years, with 30 years of her career serving patients in Oxford. She is the second African-American female physician in Granville county and the first to come back and serve her hometown as a licensed physician.


Dr. Chavis is a faithful member of St. Cyprian’s Episcopal Church, where she serves as a Sunday School teacher, a member of the choir and a Chalice bearer, as well as serving as a vestry member. With all this on her plate, she remains very active in civil and social organizations throughout the county. She works diligently for the rights of all citizens in the community.


In addition to her service on the Kerr-Tar Regional Council of Governments (29 years), Dr. Chavis is also an active member of several organizations such as the Oxford Chapter of Les Gemmes, the Good Will Sertoma Club (charter member) and the Central Children’s Home Board.


“Dr. Chavis has a true sense of compassion that is developed from her medical profession, as well as a dedication and love for our community and its citizens,” said Granville County Commissioner David Smith, who presented the award. “On behalf of Granville County, it is an honor for us to present Dr. Francine Chavis with the Outstanding COG Board Member Award for 2019.”


Last year’s Board Member of the Year Award was presented to Granville County Board Chair Zelodis Jay, who was on hand for the 2019 presentation.


Pictured with Dr. Chavis (second from right) are Emily Hurd, Youngsville Town Clerk; Frank Frazier, Henderson City Manager; Phyllis Blackwell, wife of Byrd Blackwell, Honorary Municipal Award winner; W.E. “Pete” Averette, REgional Star Award winner; Dr. Chavis; Jennifer Jordan-Pierce, County Elected Official Award recipient. Not pictured is Charlotte Stigall, wife of Sandy Stigall, Honorary Municipal Award winner.








Back To Top