Three Granville County employees honored for service

In the past two months, three Granville County employees have been recognized for outstanding service to the county as they have reached their respective retirements. What makes their employment at Granville County Government unique is that between them, with combined longevity, they have served our residents with more than 100 years of experience. 


Carolyn Trappiel of Granville County’s Department of Social Services began work in January of 1978 and officially retired on Aug. 30 after 41 years with the department. As an Income Maintenance Investigator, Level II, Carolyn was tasked with investigating fraud or alleged fraud cases, as well as evaluating case referrals. She was recognized by the Board of Commissioners at the Sept. 3 meeting and thanked for her many years of service to the county. 


As Administrative Secretary for the Granville County Sheriff’s Office, Cora Chavis was employed from July of 1997 through September of 2019. Duties included case assignments, maintaining traffic stop reports, facilitating record requests from partnering law enforcement agencies, and other administrative duties. Cora also coordinated communications between Granville County Crime Stoppers, the Sheriff’s Office and local media. She was recognized for her service to the county at the Oct. 7th Commissioners meeting.


Luanne Cox, Administrative Officer II for Granville County’s Department of Social Services, retired effective Oct. 31 with 38 years of service. In her role, Luanne served as the agency’s personnel officer and was responsible for purchasing as well as managing the department budget. She also developed and maintained department reports, as well as other duties. Her retirement was marked with recognition at the Nov. 4th Board of Commissioners meeting.


Congratulations to all our recent retirees! 


(Pictured are Carolyn Trappiel with Commissioners Tony Smith and Sue Hinman; Cora Chavis at her retirement celebration, Granville County Sheriff’s Office; and Luanne Cox with Commissioners Tony Smith and Sue Hinman.)















Back To Top